The government on Monday appointed new directors to the Indian Institutes of Technology in Delhi, Madras, Indore and Mandi.

Prof Rangan Banerjee of IIT Bombay has been appointed as the next director of IIT Delhi, while Prof V Kamakoti of IIT Madras has been elevated as director of the same institute. Prof Laxmidhar Behera of IIT Kanpur and Prof Suhas Joshi of IIT Bombay have been appointed as directors of IIT Mandi and IIT Indore, respectively.

The outgoing directors of IIT Delhi and IIT Madras – Prof Ramgopal Rao and Prof Bhaskar Ramamurthi – were serving on extension, with their five-year tenures having ended in April 2021. IIT Mandi and IIT Indore were being led by acting directors Prof Ajit Kumar and Prof Neelesh Kumar Jain, respectively.

Prof Banerjee, a Forbes Marshall Chair Professor in IIT Bombay, is a B Tech (Mechanical) from the same institute. Later, he obtained a PhD

(Mechanical Engineering), also from IIT Bombay.

By Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.